Twitterature: September 2013 Edition

September 16, 2013 — 18 Comments

 

 

twitterature-graphic1

Check out My Recent Reads from this Month:

The House at Riverton

The House at Riverton by Kate Morton: Haunting, mysterious novel. Must read for fans of Downtown Abbey or Daphne Du Maurier’s Rebecca. #British #WWI #FamilyTroubles #secrets

Someday, Someday, Maybe

Someday, Someday, Maybe by Lauren Graham: A young actress seeks her lucky break in New York City in the 1990s. Gilmore Girls fans will love the banter. 90s kids will love the pop culture and fashion references. #fun #light

The Cuckoo's Calling (Cormoran Strike, #1)

Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith: In the spotlight recently as J.K. Rowling’s stab at the crime novel. Cormoran Strike, the private detective main character, is sure to please. Well-crafted with nods to crime fiction standards, Rowling’s adult fiction still pushes boundaries to move away from Potter expectations. #SeriouslyWeKnowYouCanCussNowRowling

To Kill a Mockingbird

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee: My favorite book of all time. I have to reread it every year or so. This book holds such a special place in my heart – much like a childhood friend. #classic #worthit

The Mouse and the Motorcycle (Ralph S. Mouse, #1)

The Mouse and the Motorcycle by Beverly Cleary: Our current family read aloud. What’s not to love? Little talking creatures, an old hotel, one curious boy and motorcycles. #clever #kidclassic

On My Nightstand:

The Ocean at the End of the Lane

The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

The Engagements

The Engagements by J. Courtney Sullivan

What are you reading this month? Go check out other Twitterature entries at Modern Mrs. Darcy!

This post contains affiliate links. Thanks for supporting KellyWiggains.com.

Kelly Wiggains

Posts Facebook Google+

Kelly Wiggains, a high school English teacher turned homeschooling mom, likes to surround herself with good literature, beautiful things, and big ideas, and she wants her home to reflect those things, too. Here at KellyWiggains.com she talks about everything From Literature to Living.
BundleoftheWeek.com, 5 eBooks for $7.40!

18 responses to Twitterature: September 2013 Edition

  1. I’ve read Kate Morton’s The Forgotten Garden and LOVED it; sounds like The House at Riverton is a must-read for me!

  2. I’ve got several of the books you mentioned on my library hold list…just patiently waiting my turn! I adore To Kill A Mockingbird…it is one of my all time favorites too! I read J.K. Rowling’s Casual Vacancy and *hated* it…I wasn’t much interested in the book she penned under a different name after that.

  3. Gayla and I are reading the Earthsea books by Ursula Le Guin (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Earthsea).

  4. I’ve heard that The House at Riverton is the slowest of the Kate Morton books. I loved The Forgotten Garden and The Distant Hours, and am looking forward to finishing the quartet.

    I’m curious about Cuckoo’s Calling, but haven’t decided yet if I’m actually going to read it…

    • I would agree that The House at Riverton is slow, but I don’t usually mind slow as long as it’s compelling. I haven’t read her other books yet, so I’d like to see how they compare to each other.

      I did like Cuckoo’s Calling, but toward the end I was just getting annoyed with the overuse of the words that move the R rated movies up into the NC17 range, if you know what I mean.

  5. I loved The House at Riverton. LOVED! I also love Neil Gaiman. Do you follow him on Twitter? Such a fun tweeter! @neilhimself has over a million followers!!

  6. I wish I were better about re-reading books; TKM would be at the top of my list, too.

    Also, #SeriouslyWeKnowYouCanCussNowRowling is probably my favorite hashtag ever; I think I’ll get on the waiting list to read The Cuckoo’s Calling, but I’m not sure I’ll be able to forget that hashtag whenever I come to the cussy bits. ;)

  7. Great list! I’m looking forward to reading several of these-especially the Neil Gaiman. I really need to start reading Morton but I can never decide which to read first! And The Mouse and the Motorcycle needs to go on our family read aloud list too :)

  8. What a great list! I loved House at Riverton too. Good to read while waiting for the new Downton Abbey season :) I just got the Ocean at the End of the Lane today. Our library has “jackpot” library picks: hot new books that you can only check out for a week. You better believe I snatched it up. Love it so far!

  9. Katie Noah Gibson September 23, 2013 at 10:09 am

    Ralph S. Mouse! I love him too. TKAM is a favorite. And I loved Someday, Someday, Maybe – so much fun. Curious to hear what you think about The Engagements.

Be honest. Be kind. Bonus points if you make me laugh.